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Proposed Rulemakings____________________________   
▪ FOOD BANKS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN 
SERVICES proposed an amendment to 
the Part titled Administration of Social 
Service Programs (89 IAC 130; 48 Ill 
Reg 13061) implementing the Illinois 
Farm to Food Bank Program Act. The 
program is intended to expand 
availability within the Department's 
existing Emergency Food Assistance 
Program (EFAP) of nutritious foods 
locally grown, raised or processed by 
Illinois farmers. An administering 
entity for the Farm to Food Bank 
Program will be chosen by DHS from 
among the non-profit entities 
currently participating in EFAP. Foods 
acquired through the program must 
be surplus, seconds, or market-grade 
quality and safe for consumption. No 
fees may be charged to individual or 
household recipients or to distribution 
sites or programs. Funding to 
participating food banks will be based 
on the current weighted county 
allocations used by EFAP, with an 

allocation formula to be determined 
by the administering entity. To qualify 
for funding, a participating food bank 
must supply cash or in-kind 
contributions from non-State sources 
equal to at least 50% of the cost of 
program activities. Funding not 
accepted or used before the end of 
the State fiscal year may be 
reallocated to other food banks.  At 

least 75% of funds received must be 
used for picking, packing, processing, 
transportation, and other costs 
directly related to acquisition and 
distribution of food. Separate 
matching grants will be available to 
qualifying agricultural entities, food 
banks, food pantries, soup kitchens, 
and other agencies that provide food 
or meals to the needy to fund facility 
upgrades, equipment, or other 
capacity-building measures. The 
administering entity must also 

establish goals, preferences and 
incentives to promote equity in the 
farm industry and prioritize 
acquisition of food from socially 
disadvantaged farmers and ranchers 
(including those located in high social 
vulnerability counties, or located 
more than 30 minutes or 50 miles 
from the nearest distribution point 
such as a farmer's market).  Those 
affected by this rulemaking include 
farms, ranches, food banks, food 
pantries, soup kitchens and other 
entities that participate in the 
Emergency Food Assistance Program.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24: 
Tracie Drew, DHS, 100 S. Grand Ave. 
East,  Harris Building, 3rd Fl., 
Springfield IL 62762, 217-785-9772, 
DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov 
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ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.  
PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days. 
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.  
▪ - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider 
comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.  
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.  
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website 
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the Illinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “Illinois 
Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is 
available at the JCAR website.  

Adopted Rules, Page 5 
No Second Notices This Week 
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 1) 
 
▪ MOVERS 
 
The ILLINOIS COMMERCE 
COMMISSION proposed amendments 
to the Part titled Household Goods 
Carriers (92 IAC 1457; 48 Ill Reg 12972) 
implementing recommendations from 
a recent public workshop. These 
amendments clarify and update 
various aspects of ICC's rules for 
licensing moving companies that pack 
and transport furniture and other 
household goods. An applicant for a 
household goods moving license must 
publish notice of their application in 
an official State newspaper and file a 
certificate of publication with ICC. An 
application for a new license is 
considered to be an application for 
both temporary authority and a 
permanent license. Temporary 
authority to operate may be granted 
for up to 1 year while the applicant 
awaits a permanent license. During 
this period, the applicant is subject to 
a compliance audit and a review of any 
and all consumer complaints. 
Noncompliance with these rules will 
prompt ICC Staff to recommend that 
the Motor Carrier Employee Board 
deny a permanent license. Expiration 
of temporary authority will be stayed 
while a denial is being appealed. Other 
provisions allow required forms to be 
submitted electronically and to be 
presented to law enforcement in an 
electronic format; clarify the 
documentation to be submitted with a 
license application and to show proof 
of required insurance coverage; limit 
carrier liability for loss or damage to 
the greater of 60 cents per pound per 
article (currently, $2 per pound per 
shipment) or the lump sum value 
declared in writing by the shipper; 
define a short haul shipment, outside 
of the Chicago area, as a move of no 

more than 50 (currently 35) miles for 
purposes of determining whether a 
photo or video inventory is required; 
allow interns or trainees to be 
employed on a move provided that 
the shipper is not charged for their 
use; prohibit any unlicensed carrier 
from advertising themselves as 
offering moving services; and update 
information to be included on a bill of 
lading. Moving companies operating 
in Illinois are affected by this 
rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24: 
Greg Stucka, ICC, 527 E. Capitol Ave., 
Springfield IL  62701, 217-524-4227, 
Greg.stucka@illinois.gov 
 
DRIVERS' LICENSES 
 
The SECRETARY OF STATE proposed 
amendments to Issuance of Licenses 
(92 IAC 1030; 48 Ill Reg 13327) 
implementing PA 103-782. This 
rulemaking expands an existing 
program though which SOS issues 
identification cards to individuals 
upon release from a Department of 
Corrections institution or Department 
of Juvenile Justice facility to also 
include individuals released from 
federal prisons located in Illinois and 
Illinois county jails.  It also streamlines 
the documentation requirements for 
those individuals who have previously 
held a driver's license or identification 
card and individuals who have not 
previously held an Illinois credential 
but can provide a certified birth 
certificate.   
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24: 
Pamela Wright, SOS, 298 Howlett 
Building, Springfield IL 62756,  
217-785-3094, pwright@ilsos.gov 
 
▪ NURSES 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 

proposed amendments to the Part 
titled Nurse Practice Act (68 IAC 1300; 
48 Ill Reg 13019) that add a new 
Section addressing requirements for 
certified nurse midwives to report 
adverse occurrences (death or 
hospitalization of a newborn or 
mother within 48 hours after delivery 
or attempted delivery), allow other 
English tests approved by the Division 
of Professional Regulation (currently, 
only the Test of English as a Foreign 
Language (TOEFL) or the International 
English Language Testing System 
(IELTS) are approved) to be used by 
licensure applicants whose primary 
language is not English, and set 
minimum passing scores for some of 
the alternative tests. Grounds for 
withdrawing approval of a nurse 
education program now include 
failure to maintain a pass rate for 
graduates of 75% or higher on the 
National Council Licensing 
Examination for 2 consecutive years. 
Other provisions require all substance 
abuse assessments, in cases involving 
substance-abuse-related allegations, 
to be paid for by the licensee 
(currently, by DFPR); set timelines for 
action when a licensee contests a 
suspension; and allow licensees to 
request a hearing to terminate a 
suspension. Licensed nurses, their 
employers, and nurse education 
programs are affected.   
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24: 
Craig Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. 
Washington St. 2nd Floor, Springfield IL  
62786, 217-785-0810, fax 217-557-
4451, Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
▪ INCOME TAX 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
proposed amendments to Income Tax  
(86 IAC 100; 48 Ill Reg 13299) 
reflecting PAs 103-592 and 103-595.  
 
 

(cont. page 3) 
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 2) 
 
This rulemaking extends the sunset 
date for the Research and 
Development Credit to 1/1/32 
(currently, 1/1/27) and for the Student 
Assistance Contributions Credit to 
12/31/29 (currently 12/31/24). This 
rulemaking also limits the Illinois net 
loss to $500,000 in tax years ending on 
or after 12/31/24 and prior to 
12/31/27. Businesses that are eligible 
to claim these credits will be affected.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24: 
Brian Fliflet, DOR, 101 W. Jefferson St., 
Springfield IL  62794, 217-782-2844, 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov 
 
HUNTING  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES proposed amendments to 
the Parts titled Duck, Goose and Coot 
Hunting (17 IAC 590; 48 Ill Reg 13070), 
White-Tailed Deer Hunting By Use of 
Bow and Arrow (17 IAC 670; 48 Ill Reg 
13084), and Dove Hunting (17 IAC 730; 
48 Ill Reg 13104) making site-specific 
updates. The Part 590 rulemaking 
establishes the hunting season for 
Clinton Lake State Recreation Area as 
every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 
of the regular Central Zone duck 
hunting season (currently, duck and 
Canada goose season). Amendments 
to Part 670 add the Annbriar Karst 
State Natural Area, Guthrie Cave Land 
and Water Reserve, Mill Creek State 
Natural Area, Ralph Clover State 
Natural Area, and Illinois Caverns 
State Natural Area to the list of sites 
where statewide archery deer hunting 
rules apply. The Part 730 rulemaking 
clarifies that dove hunting at Moraine 
View State Park is limited to the dove 
management fields and to the hours 

of noon to 5 p.m. from Sept. 1-5 and 
sunrise to sunset from Sept. 6-Oct. 15.   
 
▪ OIL & GAS 
 
DNR also proposed amendments to 
the Part titled The Illinois Oil and Gas 
Act (62 IAC 240; 48 Ill Reg 13121) 
implementing Public Act 102-1017 by 
raising or establishing fees for various 
activities. The rulemaking imposes a 
$100 per well annual fee for wells in 
Temporary Abandonment status; 
raises the application fee for a liquid 
oilfield waste transportation permit 
from $100 to $150; raises fees for 
drilling a test well or hole from $300 to 
$400 per section;  and raises the fee 
for drilling or converting an 
observation, storage or service well 
from $300 to $400.  Oil and gas 
producing or drilling companies are 
affected.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments on the 4 DNR 
rulemakings through 10/21/24: 17 IAC 
590, 670 and 730, John Fischer; 62 IAC 
240, Carrie Leitner; DNR, One Natural 
Resources Way, Springfield IL 62702, 
217-782-1809, dnr.rules@illinois.gov   
 
▪ LONG TERM CARE  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
proposed amendments to Skilled 
Nursing and Intermediate Care 
Facilities Code (77 IAC 300; 48 Ill Reg 
13167) and Illinois Veterans' Homes 
Code (77 IAC 340; 48 Ill Reg 13193) 
implementing two Public Acts. The 
Part 300 amendments implement PA 
102-1080, which requires the 
following information to be 
conspicuously posted in a nursing 
home for viewing by residents, 
employees, and visitors: phone 
numbers and websites for services 
that protect and defend residents' 
rights; a statement that the Illinois 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
is a free resident advocacy service 
available to the public; and the name, 

address and phone number of the 
appropriate State governmental office 
to which complaints may be directed, 
plus notice of the facility or program's 
grievance procedure. Information 
regarding how to file complaints or 
grievances must be provided to 
residents in a language and format 
(e.g., Braille) they can understand. 
This rulemaking also updates 
statutory language concerning 
residents' rights to be treated with 
courtesy and respect, have their basic 
needs accommodated in a timely 
manner, maintain their autonomy as 
much as possible, and choose whether 
or not to perform labor or services for 
the facility. If a resident chooses to 
perform services for a facility, these 
services must be part of the resident's 
plan of care and the resident must be 
compensated at or above the 
prevailing wage rate. Finally, the Part 
300 rulemaking requires facilities to 
have internal grievance procedures 
that clearly state the process to be 
followed, set time limits for the facility 
to respond, inform residents of their 
right to have an advocate, and provide 
for a third party (which may include, 
but is not limited to, the State Long-
Term Care Ombudsman) to respond 
within 25 days if a grievance cannot be 
resolved by the facility. A facility must 
keep records of any grievance 
proceedings for at least 3 years and 
make them available to DPH upon 
request. The Part 340 rulemaking 
implements PA 103-320, which 
requires the State Long Term Care 
Ombudsman to be notified whenever 
a resident is transferred or discharged 
on an emergency basis and requires 
60 days (currently 90 days) notice to 
DPH and to the State Long Term Care  
Ombudsman when a facility is being 
wholly or partially closed and more 
than 10% of its residents must be 
discharged or transferred.  
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 3) 
 
NURSES' AIDES TRAINING 
 
DPH also proposed amendments to 
Long-Term Care Assistants and Aides 
Training Programs Code (77 IAC 395; 
48 Ill Reg 13206) updating the Code to 
align with current best practices for 
training of Certified Nursing Assistants 
and nurses' aides working in long-term 
care facilities. This rulemaking 
requires Basic Nursing Assistant 
Training Programs (BNATPs) to be 
presented over at least 4 (currently 3) 
weeks and include a minimum of 62 
hours of theory instruction and 18 
hours of laboratory (skills) instruction 
(currently, 80 hours of theory 
instruction) in addition to the existing 
40 hours of clinical instruction. 
Educational entities other than 
secondary schools must check the 
DPH Health Care Worker Registry 
before enrolling a student, and 
students must initiate a fingerprint-
based background check prior to the 
first day of classes. A 30-minute 
uninterrupted meal break must be 
allowed in any class session of 5 or 
more continuous hours, and a 15-
minute break every 2 hours must be 
allowed for any class lasting 2 or more 
hours.  "Train the Trainer" programs 
for BNATP instructors must be either 
college-based or DPH-approved and 
shall (currently, "may") include an 
Approved Evaluator Workshop. 
Continuing education units (CEUs) for 
Train the Trainer programs shall be 
accredited by the same entities the 
Department of Financial and 
Professional Regulation accepts for 

continuing education of registered 
nurses. The rulemaking also updates 
requirements for Train the Trainer 
instructors, approved evaluators, and 
BNATP coordinators; adds definitions 
for classroom instruction and program 
cluster scores (which rate students' 
understanding of required skills in six 
duty areas or clusters); replaces 
suspension of a previously approved 
training program with revocation of its 
approval; and updates grounds for 
denial or revocation of approval for a 
training program.  
 
AIDS DRUG ASSISTANCE 
 
DPH proposed an amendment to the 
Part titled AIDS Drug Assistance 
Program (77 IAC 692; 48 Ill Reg 13294) 
updating the gross annual income 
limits for program eligibility (no more 
than 300% of the Federal Poverty 
Level, based on household size) to 
reflect the 2024 FPL. The new income 
limits are $45,180 for 1 person; 
$61,320 for a 2-person household; 
$77,460 for a 3-person household; etc.   
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments on the 4 DPH 
rulemakings through 10/21/24: 
Tracey Trigillo, DPH, 524 S. Second St., 
6th Floor, Springfield IL  62701, 217-
782-1159, dph.rules@illinois.gov 
 
COAL RESIDUALS 
 
The POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
proposed amendments to Standards 
for the Disposal of Coal Combustion 
Residuals in Surface Impoundments 
(35 IAC 845; 48 Ill Reg 13140) that 
redefine a coal combustion residual 
(CCR) storage pile as any accumulation 
(currently, a temporary accumulation) 
of solid, non-flowing CCR placed on 

land in such a way as to limit releases 
of CCR into the environment. Any CCR 
storage pile that remains in place for 
more than a year will also be defined 
as a CCR landfill for purposes of 
federal regulations. For a pile that 
remains in place for a shorter period, 
the owner must provide photographs 
or other records showing that the pile 
was removed within the year-long 
timeframe.  The Illinois Environmental 
Protection Agency must more closely 
evaluate quarterly reports of fugitive 
dust from CCR storage to determine 
whether the owner's fugitive dust 
control plan needs to be revised. If 
complaints regarding fugitive dust are 
received in two consecutive quarters 
from an area of environmental justice 
concern (defined by IEPA as a census 
block with a minority and/or low-
income population at least twice the 
statewide average), the dust control 
plan must be revised to include 
additional mitigation measures. Other 
provisions expand information 
required in a CCR owner/operator's 
annual consolidated report; and 
require storage pads or liners for CCR 
piles to be inspected for cracks, holes, 
tears or other damage at least once a 
year. Owners of CCR storage piles are 
affected.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 10/21/24:  
Clerk's Office, PCB, 60 E. Van Buren St., 
Suite 630, Chicago IL 60605, 312-814-
3621, don.brown@illinois.gov. Please 
reference Docket R20-19(A). 
Comments can also be filed 
electronically through the Clerk's 
Office On-Line (COOL) at 
https://pcb.illinois.gov/.   
 



5 
 

Adopted Rules_____________________________________ 
▪ CANNABIS DISPENSARIES 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to Cannabis Regulation 
and Tax Act (68 IAC 1291; proposed at 
47 Ill Reg 12526) effective 8/20/24 at 
48 Ill Reg 13377, adding new Subparts 
and Sections outlining various aspects 
of the adult use cannabis dispensary 
licensing process. New provisions 
(which have undergone numerous 
changes since 1st Notice) include 
establishment of fees and 
credentialing procedures for principal 
officers, agents, and agents-in-charge; 
licensing fees and renewals for 
dispensing organizations; provisions 
for DFPR to grant variances from its 
rules; parameters for unprofessional 
or unethical conduct; disciplinary 
procedures; and appeals of 
disciplinary actions. The fee for a 2-
year dispensing organization license is 
$60,000, with all licenses expiring on 
March 31 of even-numbered years; 
the initial licensing fee may be 
prorated based on the number of 
months left until the next renewal 
period (e.g., a license issued in March 
of an odd-numbered year, with 12 
months left until renewal, will cost 
$30,000).  Fees of $5,000 will be 
charged for late renewals and for 
changes of ownership or control. 
Hardship waivers reducing the 
licensing fee by 50% for the first 
renewal cycle only may be granted to 
dispensing organizations that meet 
the criteria for social equity applicants 
(individuals, family members, or 
residents of communities adversely 
impacted by past enforcement of 
cannabis laws) and meet income 
criteria. A new Subpart establishing 
rules for the Responsible Vendor 
Program (a training course for 
dispensary employees that addresses 
health and safety concerns, cannabis 
laws and regulations, ID verification, 
safe storage, inventory tracking, and 

other matters) has also been added, 
along with another Subpart 
addressing changes in licensure for 
dispensing organizations (e.g., 
ownership changes, reorganizations 
or relocations). Security 
requirements, including signage, 
inventory control, destruction of 
cannabis and cannabis infused 
products, and requirements for onsite 
consumption lounges have been 
added. Since 1st Notice, DFPR has 
added and clarified numerous 
definitions and also clarified various 
aspects of the licensing process and 
the Responsible Vendor Program. 
Cannabis dispensing organizations 
and their employees are affected by 
this rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Craig 
Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. Washington St., 
2nd Floor, Springfield IL  62786, 
217/785-0813, fax 217/557-4451, 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
ABANDONED INFANTS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE 
AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted 
amendments to Rights and 
Responsibilities (89 IAC 102; proposed 
at 48 Ill Reg 6433) effective 8/26/24 at 
48 Ill Reg 13502, implementing PA 
103-501, which requires hospitals to 
complete and submit an application 
for medical assistance on behalf of any 
abandoned newborn infant born 
outside the hospital. Hospitals must 
obtain the application form from the 
HFS website and submit it by e-mail as 
an attachment. The infant will then be 
eligible for medical assistance for 12 
months, after which the individual or 
agency caring for the infant must 
submit a new application.   
 
MEDICAL PAYMENT  
 
HFS also adopted an amendment to 
Medical Payment (89 IAC 140; 

proposed at 48 Ill Reg 7543) effective 
8/26/24 at 48 Ill Reg 13507, that 
adjusts HFS’ schedule for notifying 
nursing facilities of their nursing, 
support and capital payment rates. 
Facilities shall be notified of their 
nursing rates quarterly (previously, no 
later than 30 days before the 
beginning of the rate quarter) and 
shall be notified of their support and 
capital rates annually (previously, no 
later than 30 days before the 
beginning of the rate/fiscal year).  
 
Questions/requests for copies of the 2 
HFS rulemakings: Katie Hill, HFS, 201 S. 
Grand Ave. East, 3rd Floor, Springfield 
IL 62763-0002, 217-782-1233, 
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov  
 
STATE TRAVEL  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF CENTRAL 
MANAGEMENT SERVICES adopted an 
amendment to Travel (80 IAC 2800; 
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 7512) effective 
8/26/24 at 48 Ill Reg 13372, 
implementing a provision of the Open 
Meetings Act. The amendment 
provides that a member of the Travel 
Regulation Council (which establishes 
travel reimbursement policy for all 
State agencies) may attend a meeting 
by video or audio conference when a 
quorum is physically present at the 
meeting site; the member is 
prevented from attending due to 
personal illness, disability, 
employment duties, or a family or 
other emergency; and when a 
majority of the Council approves the 
member’s remote attendance by a 
majority vote.    
 
Questions/requests for copies: 
Administrative Rules Coordinator, 
Governor's Travel Control Board, 313 
S. Sixth St., 3rd Floor, Springfield IL  
62702, 217-782-9669, 
CMS.Rule@illinois.gov 
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Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, Sept. 10, 11 a.m.  

Room C-600, Bilandic Building, 160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago 
Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website 

 
Joint Committee on Administrative Rules 
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Senator Cristina Castro    Representative Eva-Dina Delgado 
Senator Donald DeWitte   Representative Jackie Haas 
Senator Dale Fowler    Representative Steven Reick 
Senator Napoleon Harris, III   Representative Curtis Tarver, II 
Senator Sue Rezin    Representative Dave Vella 
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700 Stratton Office Building, Springfield IL 62706 
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